What Type of Consumer Are You?

When consumers make purchases on products or services their decisions are based around emotional, mental, and behavioral responses to the goods and their marketing (Kardes, 2014).  Personally, I am an emotional consumer because my mood, or feelings at that particular time directly affect my responses to the goods or service and ultimately affect my decisions.

As an individual consumer, I make purchases of goods and services to satisfy personal needs and wants or to satisfy the needs and wants of others (Kardes, 2014).  When trying to determine what type of consumer I am, I came across an article with categories of consumers and their personalities.  After reading through the options, I found that I match two categories the best.  I am a combination of Married Sophisticates and Apple Pie Families.  Married Sophisticates, are individuals’ in their late 20s or early 30s, recently married and likely have a household income between $50,000 and $100,000; this personality owns homes in upscale suburban neighborhoods and shop at stores such as The Gap, and subscribe to Netflix (Hicken, 2013).  Apple Pie Families are part of an upper-middle class family, likely living in a smaller city.  They drive minivans and shop at Home Depot, Target, and Best Buy (Hicken, 2013).

I am married without children and our household makes a six-figure income.  We are in our late 20s and early 30s and we live in a upscale suburban neighborhood.  However, I shop at stores that better fit the description of Apple Pie Families, as I frequent Target and hit up Home Depot for our DIY home projects.  I also do not drive a minivan, and can almost guarantee I never will, so I am a split combination of both types of these consumers.  Although these categories may not define what type of consumer you are completely, they do offer marketers and businesses a target market for their business.  Based on the products or services they carry, retailers can focus their consumer activities and responses around the type of shopper you are and how likely you are to make a purchase.  The more they know and understand their consumer the greater chances of success they have.  This is why the study of consumer behavior is so important for business owners and marketers alike.

Every consumer decides to make a purchase for different reasons.  As for me, I am a consumer who is influenced by purchase activities and use activities.  Purchase activities include everything leading up to the sale (Kardes, 2014).  I like add-ons to my purchases such as free shipping, or a free gift card with purchase, and will more than likely purchase more of the product in order to receive the savings.  I also appreciate the atmosphere of a store, and the merchandising efforts in displays which are another example of purchase activities businesses use to sway buyers to purchase.  Use activities can also influence my purchase.  Use activities look at when consumers are using the product, such as when you buy an outfit for a special event or a movie ticket before watching a film (Kardes, 2014).  The use of the product or service will influence my decision to purchase because I have an immediate use for the goods.

When making a purchase I am influenced by marketers concept of customer perceived value and customers delight.  Customer perceived value is the overall assessment of the utility of a product based on the consumers perceptions (Kardes, 2014).  This is where consumers weigh the benefits vs. costs and if they believe the benefits are greater than the cost then they are more likely to purchase.  Customer delight ensures the benefits not only meet but exceed the expectations of the consumer (Kardes, 2014).  This is when businesses demonstrate the value at the time of purchase, but then delight them again with more benefits after consumer has used the products.  Everyone loves a good deal and likes to feel as if they are receiving the quality they pay for, but when you use the product or service and see the results or enjoy the product then you are even more delighted.  This type of marketing technique can create loyalty in a company.

I don’t typically demonstrate post-purchase behavior but if I do I appreciate businesses following up with post-purchase communication.  This process of sending out an email or calling to check in, demonstrates they care about my relationship as a customer.  It is another aspect of customer service and can help with any hesitation or worry post-purchase.  An example of post-purchase communication can be an email offering a money-back guarantee warranty which can settle nerves or tension a consumer may have following a big purchase.  This communication can limit returns and again increase loyalty with the company and brand.  Consumers that feel valued and cared for are more likely to purchase or recommend the product or service to a friend.

Overall, the study of consumer behavior can help marketers and businesses alike better understand who their consumer is.  Everything from demographics, to emotional, mental, and physical responses to products and services can guide marketers and businesses in creating advertisements designed around consumers wants and needs.  Through marketing research and consumer behavior businesses are more successful in capturing sales and increasing loyalty.

References

Kardes, Frank. (2014, January). Consumer Behavior. South-Western College Pub. 2nd Edition.

Hicken, Melanie. (2013, April 19). What type of consumer are you? Retrieved by http://money.cnn.com/2013/04/18/pf/consumer-type/index.html

 

 

Leave a comment